FilMat Graduate Conference 2017: Conference Program

Presentation | Conference program | Directions and accommodations | Contact us

Philosophy of mathematics: history, theories and practice

First Graduate Conference of the Italian Network for the Philosophy of Mathematics – FilMat

13-14 July 2017
University of Trento, Trento, Italy

Supported by:
Department of Humanities and Philosophy, University of Trento
Department of Mathematics, University of Trento

In collaboration with:
School of Advanced Studies IUSS Pavia


Thursday July 13th

9.20 Opening: Paola Giacomoni (Trento), Claudio Fontanari (Trento), Andrea Sereni (IUSS Pavia), Achille Varzi (Columbia)
9.30-11.00 Chair: Claudio Fontanari
Vincenzo De Risi (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)
The Axiomatization of Space in the Early Modern Age

11-11.30 Coffee Break

11.30-12.30 Chair: Marco Panza
Peter Epstein (University of California, Berkeley)
A Priori Geometrical Reasoning in Euclidean Proof

Paolo Rossini (Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa)
Bruno, Proclus, and the Method of Indivisibles: Continuity and Discontinuity between Ancient and Modern Geometry

13.30-15.00 Lunch break

15.00-16.00 Chair: Matteo Plebani
Sylvia Pauw (Ghent University and University of Amsterdam)
Intellectual mathematical knowledge in Descartes

Valérie Lynn Therrien (Western University, MA)
The Axiom Of Choice As Paradigm Shift: The Case for the Distinction between the Ontological and the Methodological Crisis in the Foundations of Mathematics

17.00-17.30 Coffee break

17.30-18.30 Chair: Francesca Boccuni
Stefano Boscolo (Ca’ Foscari University of Venice)
Mathematical and Metaphysical Explanations

Friday July 14th

9.30-10.30 Chair: Mario Piazza
Filippo Constantini (Ca’ Foscari University of Venice)
The Domain Principle and Indefinite Extensibility

Tomi Francis (University of Oxford)
The Metasemantic Challenge and Arithmetical Determinacy

11.30-12-00 Coffee break

12-13.30 Chair: Achille Varzi
Gabriel Uzquiano (University of Southern California)
Impredicativity and Paradox

Attendance is free and no registration is required. For organizational reasons registration (by email to before June 30th is welcomed.

Scientific committee
Patricia Blanchette (University of Notre Dame)
Francesca Boccuni (San Raffaele University)
Laura Crosilla (University of Leeds)
Pieranna Garavaso (University of Minnesota, Morris)
Øystein Linnebo (University of Oslo)
Gabriele Lolli (Accademia delle Scienze di Torino)
Sara Negri (University of Helsinki)
Marco Panza (IHPST, Paris 1 / Chapman)
Mario Piazza (University of Chieti-Pescara)
Matteo Plebani (University of Santiago de Compostela)
Francesca Poggiolesi (IHPST, CNRS Paris 1)
Luca San Mauro (Vienna University of Technology)
Giorgio Venturi (University of Campinas)

Steering Committee
Paola Giacomoni (University of Trento)
Claudio Fontanari (University of Trento)
Andrea Sereni (IUSS Pavia)
Achille Varzi (Columbia University)

%d blogger hanno fatto clic su Mi Piace per questo: